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RETALIATORY STATEMENT 
 
 

FEES PAYABLE TO THE COLORADO DIVISION OF INSURANCE 
With initial application, NONREFUNDABLE, for investigating and processing              $500.00 
 
Annual NONREFUNDABLE fee in the year of authorization and each subsequent calendar year: 
 
Prior year’s direct written premiums in Colorado not exceeding $1,000,000              $670.00 
Prior year’s direct written premiums in Colorado in excess of $1,000,000 but not              
exceeding $10,000,000                               $2,010.00 
Prior year’s direct written premiums in Colorado in excess of $10,000,000                        $3,345.00 
 
In addition to the above fees, each entity regulated by the Division of Insurance shall pay a 
NONREFUNDABLE fraud fee to provide the Colorado department of law with adequate funds for the 
investigation and prosecution of insurance fraud. The fee is established annually by the Commissioner.  
Effective July 1, 2024, the fee is: 
 
Regulated entities whose prior year direct written premiums, gross contract funds or  
charges received in Colorado did not exceed $1,000,000                 $250.00 
Regulated entities whose prior year direct written premiums, gross contract funds or 
charges in Colorado were in excess of $1,000,000                           $2,430.00 
 
PREMIUM TAXES (Please refer to § 10-3-209, C.R.S.) 
 
Tax Rate: 
2% for all insurers 
1% for companies maintaining a home or regional home office in this state 
 
Exclusions and Deductions: 
Fraternals are exempt from the payment of premium taxes 
Policies issued prior to 1959 by a Colorado domestic company 
Premiums crop insurance policies that are reinsured by the federal government  
 
 
RETALIATORY PROVISIONS; § 10-3-209(2), C.R.S. 
If any taxes and fees in the aggregate, fines, penalties, deposits or other obligations imposed on 
Colorado insurers exceed those that Colorado imposes on a similar insurer organized under the laws of 
another state, a retaliatory tax will result.   
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CAPITAL/GUARANTY FUND PLUS SURPLUS REQUIREMENTS 
 

Type of Company Capital/Guaranty Fund Plus Surplus 
Life $1,500,000 
Fire $1,500,000 

Casualty $1,500,000 
Multiple Line $2,000,000 

Title $750,000 
 

 
DEPOSITS 
The deposit, for the benefit of ALL policyholders wherever located, must equal in MARKET VALUE the 
minuimum capital or guaranty fund and surplus requirement set forth above for the type of company 
indicated.  
 
 
Email inquiries to: DORA_INS_CORPORATEAFFAIRS@STATE.CO.US  

mailto:DORA_INS_CORPORATEAFFAIRS@STATE.CO.US

