

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRENEED CONTRACT SELLERS

The sale of contracts that provide for funeral, entombment, or cremation goods or services in the future is governed by Title 10, Article 15 of Colorado Revised Statutes. An entity desiring to engage in this type of preneed sale must have a license from the Colorado Division of Insurance. This license must be renewed annually.

An applicant will be required to demonstrate its ability to maintain preneed records, in accordance with Colorado statute and regulation, and submit an annual report with its annual license application.

The items listed below must be filed with the Division of Insurance:

- 1) Application for License Preneed Funeral Contact Seller;
- 2) Filing Fee in the amount of \$500.00 (paid by check) for the INITIAL Application;
- 3) Current balance sheet, income statement, and cash flow schedule signed by a certified public accountant evidencing a net worth of at least \$100,000
 - a) alternatively, submission of a bond in the amount of \$100,000 for preneed contract obligations, issued by an insurance company licensed in Colorado
- 4) Certificate of Good Standing issued by the Colorado Secretary of State
 - a) All entities using a d/b/a in Colorado are required to submit evidence of filing and acceptance by the Colorado Secretary of State.
 - b) A Certificate of Authority will be issued by the Colorado Division of Insurance in the same name that appears on file with the Colorado Secretary of State.
- 5) Contract form(s) including trust-funded contracts and insurance-funded contracts, along with a specimen insurance policy used to fund the preneed contract and assignment form
 - a) Identification of the trustee, including complete contact details;
 - b) Name and address of insurance company/companies, along with NAIC number
- 6) Negotiated trust agreement
- 7) All General Provider Agreements, including detailed information on services to be provided
- 8) Plan of Operations, including information on the merchandise and services to be offered, the method of marketing the preneed contracts, and any prior experience

 a) List of officers and directors with titles and contact information
- 9) Executed biographical affidavits for ALL owners/partners, officers, and directors (UCAA Form 11)
- 10) Completed fingerprint submission to the Colorado Bureau of Investigations for all owners/partners, officers, and directors.

Direct licensure questions to (Attn Preneed): <u>dora_ins_corporateaffairs@state.co.us</u>

Mail completed applications to:

Corporate Affairs Colorado Division of Insurance 1560 Broadway, Suite 850 Denver, CO 80202



