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Colorado

I Background and Purpose

Section 10-16-122.1(2.5)(a), C.R.S., establishes that any Pharmacy Benefit Manager (PBM)
doing business in Colorado must register with the Division of Insurance, including a PBM that
is not directly connected with a carrier. This bulletin clarifies the requirements for PBM
registration, including logistics, operational details, and the scope of enforcement under
Section 10-16-122.1, C.R.S.

Bulletins are the Division of Insurance’s (Division) interpretations of existing insurance law or
general statements of Division policy. Bulletins themselves establish neither binding norms
nor finally determine issues or rights.

. Applicability and Scope

This bulletin applies to all entities operating as a pharmacy benefit manager in Colorado,
including PBMs not directly connected with a carrier and PBMs based outside of Colorado but
providing pharmacy benefit management services for a health plan in Colorado.

. Division Position
The Division provides the following guidance to PBMs:

A. Registration. Existing law requires any entity performing PBM functions within the
state to register with the Division pursuant to section 10-16-122.1(2.5), C.R.S. The
PBM Officer must be a natural person, not an entity, and include name, address,
phone number, email address, and phone number.

1. PBMs Servicing ERISA Self-Funded Plans. PBMs must register with the Division
regardless of whether the PBM is connected with a carrier. If an entity operates
as a pharmacy benefit manager for any plan covering Colorado residents, it
must comply with Colorado PBM registration laws.

2. PBMs Domiciled Outside of Colorado. Pursuant to section 10-16-122.1 (2.5),
C.R.S., all PBMs conducting business within the state must register with the
Colorado Division of Insurance, regardless of their corporate domicile. If a PBM
is based outside of Colorado but services a health plan with eligible members
residing in Colorado, the entity must still register with the Division of
Insurance.

B. Reporting Registration-Related Changes. PBMs who are registered with the state
must report the following organizational changes to the Division to ensure
transparency and accountability, including changes in:



Owner and Officer Changes

Contact Information

Organizational Documents

Policies and Procedures

Demonstrating Compliance

Financial Information

Disclosures Regarding Regulatory or Legal Actions
Annual Attestation Confirming Compliance
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Changes are to be reported via email by sending the type of change and, if
applicable, substantive details to the Division's enforcement email address.
dora_pbm_compliance@state.co.us.

Renewing PBM Licensure. PBMs are required to renew their registration annually
(every 12 months). The required documentation for license renewal is the same as
that for registration and can be found in Division Regulation 4-2-97, Section 6. It
includes a nonrefundable renewal fee of $2,500.

PBMs should regularly verify their license status and renewal dates to ensure ongoing

compliance. To locate your renewal date:

1. Go to: Sircon’s Website. On the homepage, click “Look up License” under the
“Quick Links” section.

2. Choose “Firm”.

3. Enter your entity’s information (e.g., name, license number, or EIN).

4 Click “Search” to view your license details, including license status, issue date,
renewal/expiration date, and lines of authority.

Tip: Bookmark your license page and set a calendar reminder at least 60 days prior to
expiration to initiate the renewal process.

Surrendering a PBM License. To surrender a PBM license in Colorado, the licensee
must provide written notice of the desire to do so, which a licensee officer must sign.
The form to surrender a license is located on the Division website. You need a Google
account to complete the form. If you do not have a Google account, please download
the form, which can also be found on the Division website, and submit it to
dora_pbm_compliance@state.co.us.

Timing, Compliance, and Enforcement. PBMs must submit an application within 60
days of doing business in Colorado. PBMs must comply with all registration and
reporting requirements, including application and renewal fees set by the
Commissioner of Insurance. Entities that fail to register may be subject to penalties,
including denial, suspension, and/or cease-and-desist orders as appropriate.

Additional Division Resources

A. For More Information
Colorado Division of Insurance
PBM Compliance and Enforcement
1560 Broadway Suite 850 Denver, CO 80202


http://www.sircon.com/

Email: dora_pbm_compliance@state.co.us
B. Related Materials

e Colorado Division of Insurance PBM Registration Requirements
e House Bill 23-1227 Full Text
e ERISA Guidelines for State Regulation of PBMs

V. History

Issued August 27, 2025.
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