ACA - Essential Health Benefits


In 2014, due to the Affordable Care Act (ACA), health insurance plans were required to offer more comprehensive coverage in compliance with new federal requirements.  These minimum set of benefits and services, called Essential Health Benefits or EHBs, must be included in health plans. Plans can include more benefits than those listed and costs for the services can vary from plan to plan.

  • Ambulatory patient services
  • Emergency services
  • Hospitalization
  • Maternity and newborn care
  • Mental health and substance use disorder services, including behavioral health treatment
  • Prescription drugs
  • Rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices
  • Laboratory services
  • Preventive and wellness services and management of chronic diseases
  • Pediatric services, including oral and vision care